常见问题

  • 预防贪污

    为何我的公司/机构需要预防贪污?

    贪污、诈骗或其他舞弊行为不但蚕食公司利益,令公司商誉受损,长远更会影响公司生意。因此,公司规模不论大小,管理层亦必须尽早採取防贪措施,以提升公司竞争优势及利润。

    防贪咨询服务就哪些范畴提供防贪建议?

    所提供的防贪建议可涉及多个范畴,包括採购、存货管理、销售及会计、人事管理、合约管理、职员行为守则等。

    防贪咨询服务(如防贪建议或培训)是否收费?

    我们的服务费用全免。

    使用防贪咨询服务会否存在洩露业务资料的风险?

    不会。我们提供的服务绝对保密,确保不会洩露客户的资料,除非个别客户自愿公开及分享使用防止贪污服务的经验,以协助推介有关服务。贵公司可全权决定提供的资料内容,以及如何/是否採纳我们为你度身订造的建议。

  • 就转介业务提供/接受佣金

    如我就作出转介业务而收取佣金/回佣,这样会触犯反贪法例吗?

    根据《防止贿赂条例》(香港法例第201章)第9条,任何代理人无其主事人的许可,索取或接受任何利益(包括佣金/回佣),作为他作出与其主事人的事务有关的转介的诱因或报酬,即属违法。详情请参阅《防止贿赂条例》原文。

    请确保你已获得主事人(如僱主、你受託为其办事的人)的许可,才就作出与主事人的事务有关的转介而收取佣金/回佣。

    公司/机构应就接受和提供与其业务有关的利益(包括佣金/回佣),制订清晰的政策和规则(例如行为守则),供员工遵守。「防贪谘询服务」可协助公司制订行为守则

    如我打算向某人/业务伙伴提供佣金/回佣,作为介绍生意的回报,我应注意什么?

    根据《防止贿赂条例》(香港法例第201章)第9条,任何人士,向任何代理人提供任何利益(包括佣金/回佣),而无该代理人的主事人的许可,作为该代理人作出与其主事人的事务有关的转介的诱因或报酬,即属违法。详情请参阅《防止贿赂条例》原文。

    所以在提供佣金/回佣予任何人作为介绍生意(即转介客户给你)的回报之前,你应了解以下几点:

    1) 他与被转介的客户之间有没有代理人及主事人的关系;

    2) 如有的话,你应在提供佣金/回佣之前确定他(代理人)已经取得该客户(主事人)的同意收取佣金/回佣;

    3) 假如有关的转介与转介人的僱主业务有关,你应在提供佣金/回佣之前确定他已经取得其僱主的同意收取佣金/回佣,或佣金/回佣实为付予其僱主(上述(1)和(2)亦同样适用于其僱主);以及

    4) 如果转介人是公务员或公职人员,而该客户与他的公职有关,则不应向他提供任何佣金/回佣。

    公司/机构应就接受和提供与其业务有关的利益(包括佣金/回佣),制订清晰的政策和规则(例如行为守则),供员工遵守。「防贪谘询服务」可协助公司制订行为守则

    如我就员工转介业务与公司而给予他们佣金,这样会触犯反贪法例吗?

    一间公司就员工转介客户与公司而给予他们佣金是十分普遍的商业行为。在一般情况下,这做法并不会触犯《防止贿赂条例》,除非该员工同时亦是有关客户的代理人,而后者并没有给予前者许可就有关转介接受利益,则有可能会触犯条例第9条。详情请参阅《防止贿赂条例》原文。

    从防贪角度而言,公司应要求员工向公司申报他与所转介客户的关系,以评估两者是否有“主事人及代理人”的关系。如有的话,公司向员工提供佣金前,可要求他们索取客户的许可。

    公司/机构应就接受和提供与其业务有关的利益(包括佣金/回佣),制订清晰的政策和规则(例如行为守则),供员工遵守。「防贪谘询服务」可协助公司制订行为守则

  • 反贪法例

    我经常收到客户/供应商/生意伙伴送赠的小礼物和纪念品以示答谢,这样会触犯反贪法例吗?

    《防止贿赂条例》(第201章) 第9(1)条订明,任何代理人没有其主事人的许可而索取或接受利益,作为他作出或不作出任何行为,或在与其主事人的事务有关的事上优待或亏待任何人的报酬或诱因,即属犯罪。提供利益的人也可能触犯该条例第9(2)条所述的罪行,详情请参阅《防止贿赂条例》原文

    根据该法例,礼物/纪念品均属利益,故此你必须确定已获公司(即主事人)授权或许可,才可向客户、供应商或生意伙伴索取或接受他们的礼物。  

    为防止员工堕入贪污陷阱,我们强烈建议公司/机构就接受和提供与其业务有关的利益,制订清晰的政策和规则(例如行为守则),供员工遵守。
      
    我们可协助贵公司制订行为守则。 

    法律上怎样才算是「利益」?

    《防止贿赂条例》(第201章)订明,「利益」包括金钱、馈赠、贷款、佣金、职位、合约、服务、优待和将全部或部分法律责任予以解除,但款待并不包括在内 ,详情请参阅《防止贿赂条例》原文

    法例有否列明私人公司/机构的员工可以向生意伙伴收取利益(如利是或礼物)的价值上限?

    没有。条例没有就员工可索取或接受的利益金额设任何上限或限额。若某员工在该条例第9(1)条订明的条件下接受任何利益,而没有得到其雇主的许可,则不论该利益的价值,该员工已干犯贿赂罪,详情请参阅《防止贿赂条例》
     
    雇主可自行决定是否容许员工接受与其公司有业务往来的人士所提供的利益;若容许的话,应订明有关利益的价值上限,以及在甚么情况下(例如传统惯常送礼的节日)方可接受。不过,我们强烈建议该金额上限不应订得太高,以致让人以为接受利益一方会优待送礼人士,或有处事不公之感。 

  • 接受款待

    在《防止贿赂条例》下,「款待」的定义是甚么?

    根据《防止贿赂条例》,「款待」泛指供应在当场享用的食物或饮品,以及任何与此项供应有关或同时提供的其他款待。例如在餐厅晚宴时当场享用的食物、酒水以及音乐表演皆为「款待」。然而,如果你带走任何食物或酒水,这些便属于「利益」,而不是「款待」。

    由于「利益」在《防止贿赂条例》下并不包括「款待」,那是否表示当我们接受「款待」时,没有任何地方须要注意?

    虽然「款待」在《防止贿赂条例》下并不属于「利益」,亦是可以接受的商业及社交活动,但你在接受时必须留意会否误堕糖衣陷阱,或出现利益冲突的情况。试想像以下情况:
    作为一间公司的採购部员工,其中一个潜在供应商/承建商频密地请该员工午膳或晚膳。

    在上述情况,接受款待或使该员工在执行职务时需要报答人情,或在履行职责时有所偏袒。 事实上,很多廉署的贪污个案并不是由直接的行贿行为开始,而是一个不断给予「甜头」的过程,例如频密的款待。因此,董事或职员应避免接受与公司有事务往来的人士或其下属所提供过于奢华或频密的款待。

    公司如何可以帮助员工处理款待?

    公司的行为守则应有接受款待的政策及/或指引。公司可参考以下的行为守则范本。如需要就制订行为守则方面获取度身订造的建议,请联络我们。
     
    私人企业行为守则范本
     服务表格
     如欲了解更多防贪建议,请联络我们

  • 利益冲突

    甚么是「利益冲突」?

    当僱员的个人利益与其职位出现抵触,便会产生利益冲突的情况。假如处理不当,更有机会导致僱员在履行职务时违背僱主的最佳利益。  

    利益冲突有时在所难免,但必须作适当处理,否则最终容易出现欺诈行为或触犯《防止贿赂条例》 ( 第201章)。

    有否一些「利益冲突」的例子?

    (一) 有份参与采购工作的职员与其中一间被公司考虑的供应商有密切关系或拥有该公司的财务利益。

    (二) 负责处理聘用或晋升事宜的职员是其中一名应徵者或获考虑晋升的职员的家属、亲戚或私交友好。

    (三) 董事在其中一间参与投标或报价而正在被考虑的公司拥有财务利益。

    (四) 全职或兼职职员在其负责监管的承办商里做兼职。

    (五) 董事或职员接受供应商或承办商频密及奢华的款待。

    如何处理「利益冲突」情况?

    原则上,董事及职员应避免任何会导致或被认为会导致利益冲突的情况。他们不应滥用其在所服务机构的职位或权力,以谋取私人利益。私人利益泛指董事或职员本身及与他相关的人士,包括其家属、亲戚或私交友好的财务及其他利益。

    假如不能避免实际或潜在的利益冲突情况,董事或职员应按照公司所订定的匯报渠道,以特定表格向管理层作出申报。

    管理层应採取适当措施处理董事或职员申报的利益冲突情况,例如指派其他职员接手处理有关工作以免除冲突,或规定监督人员须严密监察有关工作的过程。所有决定及后续行动应妥善纪录在案,以保障公司及有关申报者。

FAQ

  • CPAS Advice

    Why should I care about corruption prevention in my company/organization?

    Corruption, fraud and other malpractice erode profits and jeopardise the business in the long run.  Management of any company, large or small, shall instigate anti-corruption measures as early as possible.  It sharpens their competitive edge and can improve profits.

    In what areas can CPAS render advice on?

    Specific systems and procedures such as procurement, store management, sales and accounting, staff administration, contract management and code of conduct for employees, etc.

    Do I need to pay for CPAS’s services (e.g. advice or training)?

    No.  The CPAS service is free.

    Is there any risk that confidential business information can be compromised when using the CPAS services?

    No.  Our services are provided in strict confidence to protect clients’ information unless individual clients are willing to share their experience of using the services of CPAS so as to assist in promoting the service.  Your company has full discretion to decide on the information to be given to us, and how/whether to take on board the tailored advice.

  • Offer/Acceptance of Commission in Referral of Business

    Am I violating the anti-bribery law if I accept commission/rebate for making a referral of business?

    In accordance with Section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO) (Cap. 201), an agent, without the permission of his principal solicits or accepts an advantage (including commission/rebate) as a reward or inducement for making a referral in relation to his principal's affairs, commits an offence.  Please refer to the original text in POBO for details.

    Please make sure you are permitted by your principal (e.g. an employer, a person who you act on behalf of) to accept commission/rebate for making a referral relating to your principal’s affairs.

    Companies/organisations should clearly set out their policy and rules on acceptance and offer of advantages (including commission/rebate) in relation to their business for compliance by their staff, such as by way of a Code of Conduct.  CPAS can help a company in drawing up Code of Conduct.

    What should I pay attention to if I want to offer commission/rebate to someone/a business partner in return for a business referral?

    In accordance with Section 9 of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO) (Cap. 201), a person, offer an advantage (including commission/rebate) for an agent without the permission of the agent’s principal as a reward or inducement for the agent for making a referral in relation to his principal's affairs, commits an offence.  Please refer to the original text in POBO for details.

    Hence, before offering a commission/rebate to any person in return for any business referral (i.e. referring a client to you), you should be aware of the following:

    (i) whether a “principal and agent” relationship exists between the person and the client referred by him;

    (ii) if he is an agent of the client, ensure that he has the client (his principal)'s permission to receive the commission/rebate;

    (iii) ensure that the person has his employer's permission to receive the commission if the referral is related to the employer's business or the commission is actually paid to the person’s employer (in which case points (i) and (ii) above also apply in respect of the employer); and

    (iv) if the person is an employee of a government department or public body and the client is connected with his duty, do not offer any commission/rebate to the person.

    Companies/organisations should clearly set out their policy and rules on acceptance and offer of advantages (including commission/rebate) in relation to their business for compliance by their staff, such as by way of a Code of Conduct. CPAS can help a company in drawing up Code of Conduct.

    Will I violate the anti-bribery law if I offer commission to my employees for making a referral to my company?

    This is a common business practice for a company to offer commission to an employee for the latter referring clients to the company.  Under normal circumstances, the practice does not breach the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO) (Cap. 201), unless the employee is also an agent of the client at the same time and the latter has not given permission for the former to receive advantage for the referral, there may be a risk of breaching Section 9 of the Ordinance.  Please refer to the original text in POBO for details.

    From the corruption prevention angle, a company should require its employees to disclose to the company their relationship with the clients being referred to the company so as to assess whether a “principal and agent” relationship may exist between the two, and if yes, require the employees to seek the clients’ permission for acceptance of commission before offering such to them.

    Companies/organisations should clearly set out their policy and rules on acceptance and offer of advantages (including commission/rebate) in relation to their business for compliance by their staff, such as by way of a Code of Conduct.  CPAS can help a company in drawing up Code of Conduct.

  • Anti-Bribery Law

    I often receive small gifts and souvenirs from my clients/suppliers/business associates as a gesture of showing their appreciation of my work. Am I violating the anti-bribery law?

    Under Section 9(1) of the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap. 201), an agent who, without the permission of his principal solicits or accepts an advantage as a reward or inducement for doing or forbearing to do anything, or favouring or disfavouring anyone, in relation to his principal's affairs, commits an offence.  The person offering the advantage under such circumstances may also commit an offence under Section 9(2) of the Ordinance.  Please refer to the original text in POBO for details.    
     
    Gifts/souvenirs constitute advantage under the Ordinance.  Hence, it is important for you to make sure that you are authorised or permitted by your company (i.e. your principal) to solicit or accept gifts from your clients, suppliers or business associates.  

    To prevent the staff fall prey to corruption traps, we strongly advise the companies/organizations to clearly set out their policy and rules on acceptance and offer of advantages in relation to their business for compliance by their staff, such as by way of a Code of Conduct.
      
    We can help your company in drawing up Code of Conduct

    What constitutes an “advantage” according to the law?

    Under the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap. 201), “advantage” includes money, gifts, loans, commissions, offices, contracts, service, favours and discharge of liability in whole or in part, but does not include entertainment.  Please refer to the original text in POBO for details.

    Does the law specify any limit on the value of advantage (e.g. lai see or gift) a staff of a private company/organization can receive from business associates?

    No, the Ordinance has not set any limit or threshold for the amount of the advantage an employee can solicit or accept.  If the advantage is accepted under the conditions specified in Section 9(1) of the Ordinance, the staff will commit a bribery offence regardless of the value of the advantage, unless the acceptance is permitted by his employer.  Please refer to the original text in POBO for details.
     
    It is up to the employer to decide whether to allow an employee to accept advantage from persons having business dealings with the company, and if allowed, to specify a limit on the value and the circumstances allowed (e.g. on traditional festive occasions where gifts are normally exchanged).  However, we strongly advise that the limit should not be of too high an amount that may be perceived as influencing the recipient's impartiality. 

  • Acceptance of Entertainment

    What is “entertainment” under the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (POBO)?

    According to the POBO, “entertainment” generally means the provision of food or drink, for consumption on the occasion when it is provided, and of any other entertainment connected with, or provided at the same time as, such provision.  For example, the dishes or the bottles of wine and the music performance you enjoyed during the dinner at a restaurant are “entertainment”.  However, if you take away the dishes or the wine, they will be classified as “advantage” instead of “entertainment”.

    As “advantage” does not include “entertainment” under the POBO, does it mean that we do not need to pay any attention when accepting “entertainment”?

    Although “entertainment” is not regarded as an “advantage” under the POBO and is an acceptable form of business and social behaviour, you should be aware of any “sweetening” effect or conflict of interest in acceptance.  Let’s imagine the following situation:
    as a procurement staff member of the company, one of the potential suppliers/contractors always treats the staff member lunch or dinner.

    In the above situation, acceptance of the entertainment may probably put the staff member in an obligatory position or compromise his impartiality in the discharge of his duties.  In fact, many ICAC cases showed that corruption did not begin with a direct bribe, but a sweetening process, such as frequent entertainment.  Hence, a director or staff member should avoid accepting lavish or frequent entertainment from persons whom the company has business dealings or from his subordinates.

    How could company help staff to handle entertainment?

    It is always advisable to have the company’s policy and/or guidelines on acceptance of entertainment stated in its Code of Conduct.  Companies could refer to the sample code below or contact us for tailor-made advice on drawing up Code of Conduct.
     
     Sample Code of Conduct for the Private Sector
    Service Request Form
     Contact us for Corruption Prevention Advice

  • Conflict of Interest

    What is "conflict of interest"?

    A conflict of interest arises when an employee's personal interest is in conflict with his official position, which may lead to his discharge of duties counter to the best interest of his employer, if not properly managed.  

    While sometimes, conflict of interest may be unavoidable, it is important to handle a conflict of interest situation properly.  Otherwise it may easily end up with committing fraudulent acts or breaching the Prevention of Bribery Ordinance (Cap. 201).

    Are there examples of “conflict of interest”?

    (1) A staff member involved in a procurement exercise is closely related to or has financial interest in the business of a supplier who is being considered for selection by the company.

    (2) One of the candidates under consideration in a recruitment or promotion exercise is a family member, a relative or a close personal friend of the staff member involved in the process.

    (3) A director of the company has financial interest in a company whose quotation or tender is under consideration by the Board.

    (4) A staff member (full-time or part-time) undertaking part-time work with a contractor whom he is responsible for monitoring.

    (5) A director or staff member accepts frequent and lavish entertainment from the supplier or contractor of the company.

    How to handle “conflict of interest” situations?

    As a golden rule, directors and staff members should avoid any conflict of interest situation or the perception of such conflicts, and should not misuse their position or authority in the company to pursue their own private interests.  Private interests include both financial and other interests of the director or staff member himself, and those of their family members, relatives or close personal friends. 

    In case the actual or potential conflict of interest is unavoidable, the director or staff member should make a declaration to the management through the reporting channel using a standard declaration form.  

    The management should then carry out appropriate actions to manage the conflict of interest situations reported by directors/staff members, for example, remove the conflict by assigning other staff member to take over the job or require the supervisors to closely monitor the process.  The decisions made and the follow-up actions taken should be duly recorded to protect both the company and the director or staff member concerned.